Bolt launches discount on rides in Lagos and Abuja to encourage PVC collection

Godfrey Elimian
Bolt is offering a 50% discount to 24 INEC local government offices in Lagos and Abuja
Abuja Municipal Council introduces new license for Uber/Bolt drivers, to begin enforcement by October 1

Popular e-hailing platform, Bolt has announced the relaunch of MyPVCJourney (My Permanent Voter Registration Journey), an initiative designed to encourage citizens to register to participate in the coming general election in the two major cities of its operation, Lagos and Abuja.

It was established in 2021 as part of the company’s community engagement efforts and commitment to promoting active citizenship. The MyPVCJourney project by Bolt will provide the public with useful information about voters’ registration, voters’ participation and encourage citizens to get their permanent voters cards (PVC).

Bolt is offering to provide discounted rides for individuals whose destinations are the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) offices, voters registration centres and polling units during elections.

Leading mobility company seeks to promote voters awareness through initiative
Leading mobility company seeks to promote voters’ awareness through the initiative

Speaking about the initiative, Nigeria Country Manager, Oludele Dare said,

“When we launched the MyPVCJourney last year, it was a mega success with our microsite receiving over 16,000 pledges by Nigerians who commenced their PVC process. As the electoral process begins its final stretch, we understand our responsibility as the leading ride-hailing platform to partner with Nigerians and assist them as best as we can in becoming active citizens. This initiative is just one of the many ways we continue to commit to developing the socio-political and economic landscape in Nigeria ”.

Read also: Say bye to ‘Uche from Bolt’ and hello to Bella, Bolt’s new persona

What the MyPVCJourney entails

Given the voters’ participation in previous elections, and in anticipation of the 2023 upcoming elections, the company has identified mobility challenges Nigerians face which has in previous times encouraged voter apathy.

Bolt relaunches MyPVCJourney to encourage voters participation
Bolt relaunches MyPVCJourney to encourage voters’ participation

For this purpose, Bolt has set out to aid the public in overcoming these obstacles. Two key challenges were identified by the mobility platform: they are first a lack of awareness of the nearest PVC (Permanent Voters Card) registration locations and inadequate transport opportunities in Nigeria’s biggest cities.

As a result, Bolt is offering a 50% discount to 24 INEC local government offices in Lagos and Abuja. As users choose any of the selected locations as their destination, the app will automatically apply the 50% discount to the ride.

To bolster the initiative and voter participation, Bolt will be reactivating its #MyPVCJourney microsite where users can also learn more about voting in Nigeria.

The select locations applicable for the discount are as follows:

The following destinations and selected locations represent the various INEC offices in those cities and major polling units.


  1. Abaji — Near Women Centre, off Abaji-Toto Road, Abaji
  2. Bwari — Action Area Layout, Secretariat Road (opposite High Court), Bwari
  3. Garki — No 10 Olusegun Obasanjo Way, Area 10, Garki
  4. Gwagwalada — Plot 32, Obana Motel Road, Federal Low-Cost Housing Estate, Gwagwalada
  5. Karu — AMAC Beside Magistrate Court, Karu
  6. Kuje —  Beside FCMB Bank, Plot 33A, Sauka Extention, Kuje
  7. Kwali —  KDA 301, Phase II, Unity Bank Road, Kwali


  1. Agege — 20 Arigbanla Street, Orile Agege
  2. Ajegunle — Ajeromi-Ifelodun Temidire Street (by Tolu Police Station), Ajegunle
  3. Alimosho — Alimosho Igando/Ikotun LCDA Secretariat, Idimu Road, Ikotun
  4. Amuwo-Odofin — First Gate (by First Avenue), FESTAC Town, Amuwo-Odofin
  5. Eti-Osa — Km 15, Lekki-Epe Expressway, Igbo Efon, Eti-Osa
  6. Ibeju — Ibeju-Lekki Lekki Free Trade Zone Road (before Akodo General Hospital), Orofun-Orimedu
  7. Ifako — Ijaye 6 Bamgboye Street, Alagbado
  8. Ikeja — 2 Obafemi Awolowo Way, Ikeja
  9. Ikorodu — No. 1 TOS Benson Road, GRA, Ikorodu
  10. Kosofe — 1 Moshalasi Crescent, Ogudu
  11. Lagos Island — 18 Simpson Street (Beside Total Filling Station, Sura), Lagos Island
  12. Lagos Mainland — Yaba LCDA Secretariat, Adekunle
  13. Mushin — 56 Oliyide Street (opposite General Hospital), Mushin
  14. Oshodi — Isolo LGA Secretariat, Oyatayo Street, Bolade, Oshodi
  15. Somolu — 35 Salami Saibu Street (Pedro Road), Somolu
  16. Surulere — 1A Shomade Crescent (Babajide Bus Stop), Surulere
  17. Yaba — 6, Birrel Avenue, Sabo Yaba, Lagos

Similarly, Nigeria’s electoral umpire, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has extended the ongoing Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) exercise. The Commission has directed all electoral commissioners to continue the exercise pending further directives.

Read also: Bolt raises $714m in its largest funding round for expansion and scaling of new businesses

Technext Newsletter

Get the best of Africa’s daily tech to your inbox – first thing every morning.
Join the community now!

Register for Technext Coinference 2023, the Largest blockchain and DeFi Gathering in Africa.

Technext Newsletter

Get the best of Africa’s daily tech to your inbox – first thing every morning.
Join the community now!